Home > Christian, PoliticallyCorrect > The Slipperiest Slope of All-Time

The Slipperiest Slope of All-Time

Here in Minnesota on November 6 we are faced with a couple ballot initiatives. Both of them should be answered with a resounding “Yes,” but the one that I wanted to talk about in this post is the vote to amend our state constitution to make it law that no court or no one can challenge or redefine marriage as anything else other than the union consisting of one man and one woman. As my argument in favor of this amendment I basically wanted to share this excellent and informative article by Michael Brown, “Here Comes Incest, Just as Predicted.” I probably shouldn’t need to add anything here but I can’t resist. You might be better off just reading Brown’s article and stop reading this post now. Don’t worry I will not be offended at all. Or choose one of my other posts for now.:-)

I found it very difficult to read Brown’s article (and write this post) especially because I couldn’t help my gag reflex from engaging every now and then, but that is neither here nor there. But be warned, that article and my post right here probably needs to be rated “R,” “PG-17” or at least “PG-13.”

If we allow our society or our American society to redefine marriage then we will be on the proverbial “Slipperiest Slope of All-time.” Not really sure if “slipperiest” is a word but you know what I mean. Brown, in his article does a really good job showing how (you really need to read it–click here) if we accept homosexuality as normal or just as a common alternative to a heterosexual lifestyle then we open up challenges to accept incestuous relationships as normal alternatives. I would go even further (unfortunately), that if we accept homosexuality, then other challenges will start appearing in courts and other public discourse throughout the world in addition to incest such as polygamy, adultery, bestiality, sado-masochism and even pedophilia. Good grief, could we slip on our slope any lower than pedophilia? Probably not, but then again, unfortunately, then we may come to all of the most ridiculous arguments to have alternative adoptive “couples” or strange groupings or strange “families” raising children. I don’t want to even go there (for another interesting, related article click here).

This is the one of the most important points that I differ with Libertarians. I am a Conservative with Libertarian leanings but true Libertarians don’t want any governing body defining any kind of marriage at all, not even “traditional” marriage. I really hate the phrase “traditional marriage”—marriage is marriage is marriage. One man and one woman period (in light of my earlier ramblings, a man and a woman hopefully not related in any way). I disagree with true Libertarians on this point.

In his book, “Power Divided is Power Checked” Jason Lewis gives a great argument for Federalism, that ideally power must be divided from national right down to the local level in order to be ideally checked, to make sure that power does not corrupt. I would also add that the individual, being the smallest and most local unit of “checked” power and the family would be the next in smallest and local governing power. In fact I think the healthiest society is healthy because it contains many numerous strong traditional families. Strong traditional families are best at producing strong, wise, and moral individuals and leaders. Therefore I differ from my Libertarian friends and feel that government should protect the traditional marriage and the traditional family. I know that not everyone will agree with me, being a Calvinist, Evangelical, Bible-believing person that I am, that traditional marriage and traditional family are the most ideal, especially in raising children. This is where I draw the line. And I am hoping that most people draw their lines very close to mine. Also, I know that this is a real stretch for many, but I truly feel that sexual intimacy, in turn, should only be within the traditional marriage. Call me a prude all you like, but sexual intimacy can be one of the most wonderful things in life that God has given us but it can also be the source of the most evil.

Let me explain. Earlier I called this slippery slope the “Slipperiest” because I feel strongly that this, the debasing, or corrupting of sexual intimacy into all the forms I listed above (don’t make me list them again) is truly the root of all evil. I know that in the Bible it says that the love of money is the root of all evil (1 Timothy 6:10) but, I pray that God will forgive me if I state this wrongly, but I would like to use that old cliché that actions speak louder than words and look at God’s actions in the Bible more than words in this case. I don’t see God sending supernaturally devastating hell fire and brimstone down from the sky completely destroying whole cities because of the love of money, although that may have been part of it. But the Bible clearly states that He did that because of the extremely bad, corrupt, egregious sexual acts that were going on in those cities (see Genesis 18 and 19). Ask yourselves where we got the term “sodomy.”

Anyway, come back home to our time. I hope that the “Yes” vote will win in Minnesota as it has in many other states. Hopefully, in the future we can even turn Massachusetts around to the right.

I did not mean this post to be as wordy as this but let me leave you with these words from Romans. I pray that God will not give us up to a debased mind or to our dishonorable passions.

“For this reason God gave them up to dishonorable passions. For their women exchanged natural relations for those that are contrary to nature; and the men likewise gave up natural relations with women and were consumed with passion for one another, men committing shameless acts with men and receiving in themselves the due penalty for their error.

And since they did not see fit to acknowledge God, God gave them up to a debased mind to do what ought not to be done. They were filled with all manner of unrighteousness, evil, covetousness, malice. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, maliciousness. They are gossips, slanderers, haters of God, insolent, haughty, boastful, inventors of evil, disobedient to parents, foolish, faithless, heartless, ruthless. Though they know God’s righteous decree that those who practice such things deserve to die, they not only do them but give approval to those who practice them.”

(Romans 1:26-32 ESV)

P.S. I just posted a part two to this article, please click here: The Slipperiest Slope of All-Time Part II: Here Comes Pedophilia, Just as Predicted

P.P.S. If the link to Michael Brown’s article is broken try this: http://willemdax.bo.lt/1gmxx

Leave a Reply

